Blog Archives

The Bone Shard Emperor by Andrea Stewart – Blog Tour


About the Book

The Bone Shard Emperor is the unmissable sequel to The Bone Shard Daughter, one of the biggest fantasy debuts of 2020 – a captivating tale of magic, revolution and mystery, where a young woman’s sense of identity will make or break an empire.

The Emperor is Dead. Long live the Emperor.

Lin Sukai finally sits on the throne she won at so much cost, but her struggles are only just beginning. Her people don’t trust her. Her political alliances are weak. And in the northeast of the Empire, a rebel army of constructs is gathering, its leader determined to take the throne by force.

Yet an even greater threat is on the horizon, for the Alanga – the powerful magicians of legend – have returned to the Empire. Lin may need their help to defeat the rebels and restore order.

But can she trust them?

Praise for the series

‘One of the best fantasy novels I’ve read in a long time . . . This book is truly special’ Sarah J. Maas

‘Epic fantasy at its most human and heartfelt . . . inventive, adventurous and wonderfully written’ Alix E. Harrow

‘Brilliant world-building, deep intrigue and incredible heart’ Megan E. O’Keefe


About the Author


Andrea Stewart is the Chinese American daughter of immigrants, and was raised in a number of places across the United States. When her (admittedly ambitious) dreams of becoming a dragon slayer didn’t pan out, she instead turned to writing books. She now lives in sunny California.


What I Thought


Please see my review of book one here: https://kirstyes.co.uk/2020/09/28/the-bone-shard-daughter-by-andrea-stewart-blog-tour-book-review/


I’m going to do something different with my review this time. I’m on a book reading weekend with some friends so I am going to re-read book one and then read this book and post my thoughts as I go over on TikTok here https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8tSEkb4/ and once I’m done I’ll add a written review of The Bone Shard Emperor to this post. I’m looking forward to delving back into this world.


Thanks to Tracy at Compulsive Readers and Orbit for the gifted copy for the purposes of an honest review. Do check out the rest of the tour here.

The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart – Blog Tour Book Review


About the Book

The emperor’s reign has lasted for decades, his mastery of bone shard magic powering the animal-like constructs that maintain law and order. But now his rule is failing, and revolution is sweeping across the Empire’s many islands.

Lin is the emperor’s daughter and spends her days trapped in a palace of locked doors and dark secrets. When her father refuses to recognise her as heir to the throne, she vows to prove her worth by mastering the forbidden art of bone shard magic.

Yet such power carries a great cost, and when the revolution reaches the gates of the palace, Lin must decide how far she is willing to go to claim her birthright – and save her people.

An unmissable fantasy debut for 2020 – a captivating tale of magic, revolution and mystery, where a young woman’s sense of identity will make or break an empire. Perfect for fans of CITY OF BRASS, THE POPPY WAR and EMPIRE OF SAND.


About the Author


Andrea Stewart is the Chinese American daughter of immigrants, and was raised in a number of places across the United States. When her (admittedly ambitious) dreams of becoming a dragon slayer didn’t pan out, she instead turned to writing books. She now lives in sunny California.

What I Thought


First things first. Let us talk about that cover. Evocative. Classic. Beautiful. Breathtaking.


The first chapter pulls you straight in, introducing you to protagonist Lin, and immediately gives you a fistful of questions that you want the story to unfold.


What exactly is bone shard magic?

What are constructs?

What happened to Lin’s mother?

Will Lin get her memories back? (She’s 23 and cant remember anything earlier than five years ago).

Why did her father foster Bayan?

Why does Lin believe her father fears her?

What is driving the rebellion?

Who or what are the Alanga?

What does the key open?

And right at the end of the chapter the question every book reader asks – Why do book characters never realise they are holding their breath 🤦‍♀️

Other than this slightly cliched line the writing is sumptuous. Andrea Stewart knows how to paint a vivid picture with words. Her characters jump from the page into the reader’s heart too. Even the Blacksmith, mentioned briefly feels real enough to care what happens to him. With only a few words and actions you feel the weight of his backstory.

The lure of the locked doors puts one in mind of Bluebeard. But Lin isn’t the only rebellious woman set to smash down doors and the story is told from more than her point of view. It’s an excellently used ploy to keep you reading, with each character’s little cliff hanger making you wait tantalisingly for its pay off.

This book is the beginning of a trilogy in a world that is so richly imagined, the story weaves between the different character’s journeys as much as between the islands of the Phoenix Empire. Who will rise from the ashes of rebellion?

Thank you to Tracey at Compulsive Readers and the publisher for the gifted copy for the purposes of an honest review. The book was also Goldsboro’s SFF pick of September and that copy came with the stunning stencilled edges you see on the picture at the top. It also came with a double sided postcard print with artwork by Andrea Stewart. Doubly talented.

Do check out the rest of the blog stops and order or pick up your copy now.

%d bloggers like this: