Wrong Side of the Storm by Bryna Butler – Mothman Mysteries Audiobookworm Promotions Blog Tour: Audiobook Review

Author: Bryna Butler

Narrator: Michael Mola

Length: 3 hours 2 minutes

Series: Mothman Mysteries, Book 2

Publisher: Swancrest Publishing

Genre: Paranormal Mystery; YA

Where will you be when all hail breaks loose?

When a mysterious new player wields a deadly storm to force the men in black into lockdown, teens Eric and Bridget are suddenly separated. With Bridget on the inside and Eric on the outside, the two race to beat the clock and open the doors before the suits make the ultimate sacrifice to prevent the base from falling into the wrong hands.

Get ready for a quirky thrill ride full of spunky book blogger rants, sneaky twists, liberally-used nicknames, smoldering smirks from Mothman, and even a hippy vampire. Hold on kiddos, it’s Mothman verses the Weather Machine!

The Mothman Mysteries are set in the same universe with the same characters, but the books are stand-alone mysteries and can be heard in any order. Considered a clean teen series, suitable for pre-teens. A humorous young adult paranormal mystery for fans of Doctor Who and The Dresden Files.

Buy on Audible

Bryna Butler is a journalism-trained writer having authored hundreds of articles and financial publications before taking the leap into fiction in 2011. Her first book, OfSun & Moon, skyrocketed to number one on Kindle top free charts in multiple categories in the U.S. and U.K. when the title went to free status in 2014 and again held #1 Teen Romantic Mystery on the Kindle Free charts in the U.S. in February 2020. The book was also featured in The Morganville Vampires web series. Butler’s work is free of profanity and mature content making them safe reads for pre-teen as well as teen readers. In her latest series, the Mothman Mysteries, she creates an unexpected and delightful twist on the urban legend from her youth, the winged Mothman of Point Pleasant, West Virginia.
Butler’s love of storytelling leads her heart to many fandoms. You will often find her online gushing about the latest movie/TV show/book or fondly reminiscing about the time she met Charlaine Harris and didn’t faint.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookYouTubeInstagram

Narrator Bio

Michael Mola is a writer, editor, producer, director, voice over artist, and narrator with over 50 titles to his credit. Michael voiced Wrong Side of the Storm, the latest installment in the Mothman Mysteries series.

LinkedIn

 Wrong Side of the Storm is the second book in the Mothman Mysteries and the audiobook is a little over three hours long so perfect for a holiday journey – you know if we ever take those again. 


Once again we follow Mothman Eric, human Bridget, Man-in-Black Carey Warner and Dewey, now coming to terms with what happened to him. However this time the adventure is narrated by Michael Mola. Mola steps into James Fahey’s Eric really well and the style seemed well matched for him and Dewey. We had some point of view chapters from Bridget this time too and I have to admit Mola’s narration made her come across a little more vapid than the narration does. 

Due to the length this was again another pacy read with our gang trying to solve a mysterious suicide and locate the eye of a very unusual storm. 
It does follow on from book one, although vampires play a less prominent role, so although the mystery itself can be read as a stand alone there will be a few references you’d miss if you haven’t read the first instalment. 

I particularly liked Carey’s character development and would love to see this continue if the series does. And there are a couple of nice future plot points planted in this story too. 

The series is a lot of fun and I would love to see it continue to develop. The interplay between the characters is really engaging too. 

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Bryna Butler. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

ERIC JANSEN aka Mothman

Rock God . . . in his own mind.

When you first meet Eric Jansen, you will notice his lean body, blond hair just long enough to lift when the fan is pointed at him on stage, and the pair of ever-present drumsticks in the back pocket of his ripped jeans. When he speaks, you’ll quickly realize that he never wants to grow up, has no shortage of self-confidence, plays drums in a garage band, has deep loyalty for his best friend, and never wants anything to change. He’s seems like a pretty average sixteen-year-old boy, but if you think he’s sixteen, you would be wrong. A swipe of the tattoo (that’s not actually a tattoo) on his arm will reveal his true nature, and his true nature is legendary. Known as the Mothman of Point Pleasant, Eric is really a centuries old alien with giant wings and glowing red eyes in the perfect human disguise as he stalks the only prey that fills the void inside, the vampires.

Favorites: orange soda, old vampires (they have more flavor), 80s rock bands, concert t-shirts

BRIDGET NORTH

Girl next door mystery chaser

One could speculate that book blogging Bridget North gets her curiosity naturally from her journalist father. She loves books and occasionally rants about them. She even has her own blog, though its name constantly changes. She’s crushing on her best friend, not that he would ever notice anything beyond her big, innocent eyes. Bridget is slight in stature at five feet, 115 pounds, but not easily intimidated. When danger threatens, she is the first to the scene, dragging her best friend Eric Jansen along.

Favorites: paranormal books, big tote bags, planning/organizing

AGENT CAREY WARNER

Frat boy turned men in black agent

This is Agent Carey Warner’s last chance to redeem himself. The clean-cut, dimpled frat boy has been kicked out of college after college for partying too much until his wealthy family pulled strings to get him hired on by the Agency. The required black suit looks good on him. His assignment: handler to the resident alien that no one else wants. Cocky Eric Jansen bucks authority at every turn, but can he and the retired frat boy find common ground?

Favorites: flirting, his secret flask of whiskey

View the full schedule here

Plugging you into the audio community since 2016.

Sign up as a tour host here.

Posted on August 16, 2020, in Author Interviews, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks again for participating in the tour! I’m totally sucked into your blog. It has become a go-to for me these past few weeks.

Please share your thoughts with me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: