Blog Archives

#42for22 – 2022 Reading Challenge


On the 22nd of December, what better day to share our 2022 reading challenge – hosted by Jay (@jkkenobi) Stacey (@svmitche) Catherine (@catrad) and me (@kirstyes). Yes, we are back for the 4th year. This time using the hashtag #42for22.


We’ve all gone for one word prompts which you can use to inspire your book choice in any way you choose. And we have used Michelle’s initials in memory of her – again to be used how you wish. Our entire challenge last year was dedicated to Michelle who passed away in 2020. We still miss you Mich.


As ever, if it is on Goodreads it counts.

If it is audio, e, paperback or hardback it counts.

If it’s a re-read or a new read it counts.


Ideally you’d pick one book per prompt but if you are short of time and still want to take part, if a book fits two or more prompts, pop it down.


If you find one book that fits all 42 prompts together we want to know what it is!


Here’s the challenge image made by Catherine.

And the spreadsheet can be downloaded from Dropbox here.

There are 9 days of the year left and I have two books left to read for our 2021 challenge #42forMich, and nine books left to read to hit my Goodreads challenge of 150 (this will be my lowest total since 2015!). I am actually part way through 9 books so the hopes is I get at least all of them all finished. Wish me reading luck.

I will aim to do a wrap up post and tell you briefly about my favourite books this year on the 31st (famous last words).

Hope everyone has read some awesome books this year and here is to reading some brilliant ones for this challenge next year.

The Untold Story by Genevieve Cogman – Blog Tour


Publishing tomorrow- 9th Dec 2021 is the concluding book in the Invisible Library series – The Untold Story by Genevieve Cogman.

About the Book


In this thrilling historical fantasy, time-traveling Librarian spy Irene will need to delve deep into a tangled web of loyalty and power to keep her friends safe.

Irene is trying to learn the truth about Alberich-and the possibility that he’s her father. But when the Library orders her to kill him, and then Alberich himself offers to sign a truce, she has to discover why he originally betrayed the Library.

With her allies endangered and her strongest loyalties under threat, she’ll have to trace his past across multiple worlds and into the depths of mythology and folklore, to find the truth at the heart of the Library, and why the Library was first created.

About the Author


Genevieve Cogman got started on Tolkien and Sherlock Holmes at an early age, and has never looked back. But on a perhaps more prosaic note, she has an MSC in Statistics with Medical Applications and has wielded this in an assortment of jobs: clinical coder, data analyst and classifications specialist. Although The Invisible Library is her debut novel, she has also previously worked as a freelance roleplaying game writer. Genevieve Cogman’s hobbies include patchwork, beading, knitting and gaming, and she lives in the north of England

The Unread Story 🤦‍♀️


What happens if you mix a book blogger with ADHD, a TBR house, a penchant for stories about stories and a rapid response to a PR email?


You get me. Excited about the idea of The Untold Story. Recognising the author as the one that wrote The Invisible Library that you’ve been meaning to get to for a while. Requesting this one to read them together and realising that this is book 8 and the reason you didn’t read the first one was because you liked the Story but weren’t keen on the audio narrator. Sorry.


So, um. I appear to have unintentionally added an 8 book series to my to read list. 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️ The Blurb says that the book can be read as standalones or as a sequence but I personally can’t read out of order – it’s not the same. And someone on goodreads mentioned a cliffhanger in Book 7!


Another reason I can’t read it yet is because the blurb has echoes of a middle grade book I’m writing with a buddy so we want to finish our draft before we go reading other things that sound similar. We are halfway through so far. I suspect we mind have to add an intertextual nod in the rewrite.


The rest of this year is looking hectic for me so I’m going to host a readalong next year. One book a month – finishing on my birthday month of August. Who is in?


I will host it on booktok because why not. I want to move from just posting dog videos to talking about books and YouTube seems like far too much commitment. 3 min reviews sound ideal. So follow me there – I’m @kirstyes. I’ll post fuller details of the readalong at the weekend.


For fans of Doctor Who, Sherlock Holmes, All Souls trilogy, and Discworld. Lovers of dragons, skulduggery (not pleasant – although that would make an awesome cross over), faes and librarian spies and to top it all off, the foiling on the book a quote for N.K. Jemisin who says:


‘I absolutely loved this… flavoured with truly unique mythology and a dash of the eldritch. Such clever, creepy, elaborate worldbuilding and snarky, sexy-smart characters!’ Check out that exclamation mark.


So, if you’ve not read this series yet and you like the same kind of books I do this series really seems tailor written for us. Let’s start again right back at Book 1, Chapter 1 with

The Invisible Library
Synopsis – Book 1


Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant Kai, she’s posted to an alternative London. Their mission – to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it’s already been stolen. London’s underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

Adding to the jeopardy, this world is chaos-infested – the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Irene’s new assistant is also hiding secrets of his own.

Soon, she’s up to her eyebrows in a heady mix of danger, clues and secret societies. Yet failure is not an option – the nature of reality itself is at stake.

Huge thanks to @BlackCrow_PR, @UKTor/@Panmacmillan for the gifted copy for the purposes of an honest review which I promise will come next year. Hey. I bought 7 books because of the title and cover of the this one.


@GenevieveCogman – What kind of wild ride will I be going on in 2022? And who will be joining me?

Do check out the rest of the tour stops for bloggers who aren’t doofuses to see what they thought of the concluding chapter and to find out if they’ll be checking this series out again and joining our readalong in 2022 using #ReadInvisibleLibrary22

Because of You by Dawn French – Blog Tour Feature ‘Because of Me’ and Giveaway


About the Book

Tick-tock, tick-tock, tick-tock . . . midnight.

The old millennium turns into the new.

In the same hospital, two very different women give birth to two very similar daughters.

Hope leaves with a beautiful baby girl.

Anna leaves with empty arms.

Seventeen years later, the gods who keep watch over broken-hearted mothers wreak mighty revenge, and the truth starts rolling, terrible and deep, toward them all.

The power of mother-love will be tested to its limits.

Perhaps beyond . . .

About the Author


Dawn French has been making people laugh for 30 years. As a writer, comedian and actor, she has appeared in some of this country’s most long-running and celebrated shows, including French and Saunders, The Vicar of Dibley, Jam and Jerusalem, and more recently, Roger and Val Have Just Got In. Her first three novels, A Tiny Bit Marvellous, Oh Dear Silvia and According to YES, are all Sunday Times bestsellers.

“Because of Me”


I was excited to delve into this because … Dawn French! and so I started the audiobook delighted that it was being read by the author. But, I had to stop listening. And that is ‘Because of Me’, I hadn’t actually read the Synopsis 🤦‍♀️.

Some of you may remember me sharing my personal fertility journey on here a while back. Well sadly that didn’t work out positively for me (after two failed IUI and one failed IVF) and the topic of this book and its early chapters I found very triggering (IVF, infant loss) because I’m not in the best headspace mentally at the moment.

And that’s okay. Sometimes you pick up a book and it’s simply not the right time to read it. I’m so sorry that I’m not in a place to review the book right now but I can certainly tell you that it is likely to ‘hit you in the feels’. Do check out the other tour stops on the blog (picture below) to see what everyone else thought.

It was actually baby loss awareness week last week and I just want to highlight a couple of friend’s charities.


From Leia with Love


Oscar’s Wish Foundation

Giveaway


The lovely folks at Penguin as well as being very understanding are sponsoring giveaway of an audiobook copy of the book via audiobooks.com.


To be in with a chance of winning an audiobook copy of Because of You by Dawn French finish the sentence Because of You, I… and share the blog tour poster using #BecauseofYouAudio, and tag in me @kirstyes and @penguinbooksuk. I will randomly pick the #giveaway winner on Wednesday 21st 2020.

Blog Tour Poster


Thank you to penguin for the audiobook link for the purposes of a review (which I will do in the future when in a better headspace), and for sponsoring the giveaway.


%d bloggers like this: